holiday calendar 2023 federal


Every year, the United States observes 11 federal holidays. Federal holidays that occur on Saturday are observed on the prior Friday, while those that fall on Sunday are observed on the following Monday.


Date Federal Holiday # Days
Sunday, January 1 New Years Day 2023 -102
Monday, January 2 New Years Day 2023 (observed) -101
Monday, January 16 Martin Luther King Day 2023 -87
Monday, February 20 Presidents Day 2023 * -52
Monday, May 29 Memorial Day 2023 46
Monday, June 19 Juneteenth 2023 67
Tuesday, July 4 Independence Day 2023 82
Monday, September 4 Labor Day 2023 144
Monday, October 9 Columbus Day 2023 ** 179
Friday, November 10 Veterans Day 2023 (observed) 211
Saturday, November 11 Veterans Day 2023 212
Thursday, November 23 Thanksgiving 2023 224
Monday, December 25 Christmas Day 2023 256

The above-mentioned federal holidays are designated by the United States Congress in Title V of the United States Code (5 U.S.C. 6103). Because Congress has the right to declare holidays for government (federal) institutions, many other state and private organizations, such as corporations, banks, schools, and post offices, have followed suit and incorporated federal holidays as paid days off for their employees. Many state and municipal governments will give their employees extra days off based on their own culture and history. The first formal federal holidays were established on June 28th, 1870, when Congress intended to correlate with existing state holidays and established federal holidays for federal workers working in the District of Columbia. Later that year, in 1885, the first four federal holidays were extended to all government workers in the nation (New Year’s Day, Independence Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day).

* Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington

** Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Virginia, and West Virginia all observe Columbus Day.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button